You Win Some & You Lose Some

As awesome as it is for me to share all of my couponing successes, I feel an obligation to share the not so awesome trips that I have had. They are usually far and few between, but I guess they deserve mentioning. This weekend I went shopping at WAGs to pick up some good deals, but I ended up not doing as well as I thought, here’s what happened:

I went there thinking that I would get:

(3) 6 packs of Dove Men’s bar soap on sale 3/$18.00
-use (3) $4/1 coupons from 6/26 RP = $6.00
Get $6.00 RR = Free

(6) Rolls of sctoch packing tape on sale 2/$3.00 = $9.00
-use (6) $1/1 = 6/$3.00 or .50 cents each

(4) Dove Shower Tool = 4/$15
(2) B1G1 = 4/$7.50
$5 RR = 4/$2.50 = .63 cents each.

(4) Carefree Liners = 2/$4.00 = $8.00
(4) .50/1 (6/26 SS) = 2/$6.00
(2) $3/2 WAGS July = Free

Raid Bug Barrier = $7.99
$1/1 WAGS June = $6.99
$3/1 (6/12 SS) – $3.99

(2) Reach toothbrush = $6
(2) $1/1 (4/17 SS) = $4
(2) $2 RR = Free

They were out of the soap & the toothbrushes, so I had to get a raincheck.

So my theory was I could do this all in 2 transactions, so I could do two carefree and two of the reach toothbrush, and six of the rolls of tape which were a limit of 4, and pay about $8 out of pocket on the first transaction then roll the RR to the next and only pay about $2. BUT when I was cashing out on the first transaction, the total came to $10.40 which was more than I expected but not a big deal, but then when I did the second transaction for some reason the register wouldn’t accept 2 of my Scotch coupons or the $5 RR from the previous transaction. The cashier insisted it was because I had too many coupons per item, but that doesn’t make sense since I only had one MF coupon per item. So I ended up buying a candy bar, and not using one of the Scotch coupons to get the transaction to go through and paying a total of $4.29. Making my total $14.69.

Not a huge loss on money, but it was just a rather insignificant trip. It’s not the end of the world, but it was a big enough deal that it bothered me. I guess I just wanted to point out that it happens to all of us, and to not get discouraged! Keep going, because the day before I scored $225 worth of stuff for $25 at Rite Aid !!

Leave a Reply

